The 3rd edition of the Quantum Matter International Conference – QUANTUMatter 2023 (Madrid, Spain)– aims at gathering the various communities engaged in the science and technologies of quantum information and quantum matter, to foster the incubation of new ideas & collaborations at the forefront of quantum technologies, emerging quantum materials and novel generations of quantum communication protocols, quantum sensing and quantum simulation.
Quantum Information and Quantum Matter are two components of revolutionary treatments of information, which are becoming cornerstones for discovering and implementing disruptive paradigms in quantum computation and quantum technologies.
They have huge potential to impact established industrial sectors or building novel industries, as evidenced by the race towards practical quantum computers, together with the use of quantum technologies for secure communication, sensing and simulations of the quantum world. Quantum Matter encompasses existing materials used in current quantum technologies and Qubits-based architectures design as well as the vast family of topological quantum materials in which symmetries, topology and entanglement are strongly intertwined, and give rise to spectacular phenomena such as exotic superconductivity, quantum spin liquids, quantum anomalous Hall effect, nontrivial fermionic excitations such as Majorana fermions or more exotic many-body states,… The convergences and synergies between Q-information and Q-Matter are foundational and will keep flourishing in the next decade.
The Phantoms Foundation is a Professional Conference Organiser specialised in the planning and execution of conferences and online meetings focused on Nanoscience & Nanotechnology and in particular "Graphene and 2DM". The Phantoms Foundation, a non-profit organisation, is a key actor in structuring and fostering European Excellence and enhancing collaborations in these fields, giving as well high level management profile to National and European scientific projects (Involved in 11 European projects in the last 10 years either as coordinator or partner) and providing an innovative platform for dissemination, transfer and transformation of basic nanoscience knowledge, strengthening interdisciplinary research in nanoscience and nanotechnology by catalysing collaboration among international research groups.
Currently, one of its main core activities is to organize International conferences, meetings and workshops in particular in the "Graphene and 2D Materials" area:
The Institut Catala de Nanociencia I Nanotecnologia (ICN2) is a flagship research institute within the CERCA network of centres created and supported by the Autonomous Government of Catalonia to raise Catalan science to the premier international level. The patrons of ICN2 are the Government of Catalonia (Generalitat), the Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC), and the Autonomous University of Barcelona (UAB). Its core activities are Frontier Basic and Applied Research in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Technology Transfer, and Public Outreach. Currently, ICN2 numbers some 200 staff from over 30 countries, of which about 170 are researchers. In addition to the theoretical and experimental groups involved in the project, ICN2´s activities in graphene include thermal management, photovoltaic, biosensors and energy applications, gathering about 40 researchers (permanent staff, postdoc and Ph.D. students). ICN2 achievements were recognised in 2014 with the Severo Ochoa Centre of Excellence accreditation, the most prestigious award targeting research centres in Spain.
The Donostia International Physics Center Foundation (DIPC) was created in 1999, the fruit of institutional collaboration between the Departments of Education and Industry of the Basque government, the University of the Basque Country, the Diputación Foral de Guipúzcoa, the San Sebastián City Hall, the Kutxa of Guipúzcoa and San Sebastián. Iberdrola S.A. also participated in the project from 2000-2003. In 2004, Naturcorp Multiservicios S.A, joined, followed by Telefónica S.A in 2005.
  • The DIPC was created as an intellectual centre whose main aim is to promote and catalyse the development of basic research and basic research oriented towards material science to reach the highest level. Since its creation, the DIPC has been an open institution, linked to the University of the Basque Country, serving as a platform for the internationalising of basic science in the Basque Country in the field of materials.
  • During its short life, the DIPC Foundation has become an international point of reference in basic research in the field of the Physics of Materials. This relevance shows in the quality of the researchers who have done research stays at the Foundation, the international level of the conferences held there, and, mainly, by the importance of the scientific contributions made as a consequence of the activities carried out at the DIPC.

The Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) is the largest public research institution in Spain and one of the most renowned institutions in the European Research Area (ERA). It is affiliated to the Ministry of Science and Innovation through the Secretary General for Research.

Organising Committee
Antonio Correia (Phantoms Foundation, Spain) - Chairperson
Ricardo Muiño (DIPC & CFM-CSIC, Spain)
Juan Jose Garcia-Ripoll (IFF-CSIC, Spain)
Pablo Ordejon (ICN2, Spain)
Local Organising Committee
Gloria Platero Coello (ICMM-CSIC, Spain)
Ramon Aguado (ICMM/CSIC, Spain)
Alejandro Gonzalez-Tudela (IFF-CSIC, Spain)
Alfredo Levy Yeyati (IFIMAC / UAM, Spain)
Diego Porras (IFF-CSIC, Spain)
Alejandro Pozas (UCM, Spain)
International Scientific Committee
Silvano de Franceschi (CEA/UGA, France) - Chairperson
Stephan Roche (ICREA / ICN2, Spain) - Co-Chairperson
Alba Cervera-Lierta (Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain) - Industrial Forum Co-Chairperson
Jordi Arbiol (ICREA / ICN2, Spain)
Leni Bascones (ICMM-CSIC, Spain) 
Sonia Conesa Boj (Delft University, The Netherlands)
Carmina García-Almudéver (UPV, Spain)
Jens Eisert (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)
Andrea Ferrari (University of Cambridge / CGC, UK)
Francesca Ferlaino (University of Innsbruck & IQOQI, Austria)
Pol Forn-Díaz (IFAE, Spain)
Francesc Perez-Murano (CNM / CSIC, Spain)
Heike Riel (IBM Research, Switzerland)
Nicolas Roch (Institut Néel CNRS, France)
Daniel Sanchez-Portal (CFM, Spain)
Christoph Stampfer (RWTH, Germany)
Steven Touzard (NUS, Singapore)
Maia Vergniory (DIPC, Spain)
Xavier Waintal (IRIG - CEA Grenoble, France)
Sergio Valenzuela (ICN2, Spain)
Technical Committee
Tsiry Babolat (Phantoms Foundation, Spain)
Concepción Narros (Phantoms Foundation, Spain)
Joaquin Ramón-Laca Maderal (Phantoms Foundation, Spain)
Jose Luis Roldan (Phantoms Foundation, Spain)


© Phantoms Foundation